It’s been over a month since I deleted my Snapchat account… and I’m still alive. I didn’t delete it on purpose, but having to reset my iPhone for reasons I won’t get into, my apps were also deleted. Most people would consider this a major tragedy. I, however, am not most people. When my phone reset initially it was sort of cathartic. It was a new start. Kind of liking getting a new flip phone years ago. I didn’t have to download the same stuff anymore. I wasn’t bound by the iCloud cloud and it was extremely cleansing.

Still, I was met by opposition. Everyone around me thought it was weird and couldn’t understand my logic. Logically speaking, I couldn’t understand their reasoning. It is a smartphone by design. It’s not actually intelligent. Having the most apps doesn’t equate to being sophisticated in real life. And the term smartphone, is nothing but a clever marketing strategy that has been commonly acceptedintrinsic value with dSome might consider re-downloading all of the apps previously on their phone a necessity. How can one go on in life without the necessary apps? How can go on in life without drinking coffee in the morning? Well, by simply continuing on without it.

And whilst all this time has gone by, I’ve realized that I don’t need to “Snap” my moments away. They still exist. I can still cherish them. Chipotle is still just as good without taking a picture of it and sending it to someone. Actually, Chipotle for me is better when I eat it in a period of silent reflection, savoring the well-balanced flavors.

But I have noticed why there is a disconnect between my Snapchat-less self and others. And it’s usually in the presence of a close friend or relative I see too often. I’m sitting in a room with them, and they’re on Snapchat, and I’m sitting there looking at the ceiling.

It’s for the best, though. I won’t

(Obviously I understand caffeine is more than just a mental addiction, but lets focus on that part for the sake of the argument).

Anyhow, here are some responses you might hear from people when you tell them you’re no longer on a social media site:

-Do you miss it?

-You’re just doing it to gain attention.

-You’ll be back sooner or later, promise me.

-That’s pointless.

-What are you trying to prove?

-Good decision. I’ve been thinking of deleting mine too.

For the negative minded responses, you probably want to counter the assumption: “Why are you assuming I’m the one with the problem?” It’s an app for christ sake. It’s not a big deal. If someone gets defensive about it, they are most likely insecure about their own app usage, time wasted, or a sense of abandonment they feel from you no longer being involved in their cyber realm.

And for some people, the cyber realm is all they have. Your Snap score does not equate to your social skills, well-being, or how well you handle conflicts with loved ones. As for the other elicited responses, I’m not going to cover them. But I do want to briefly discuss Snap Stories before I conclude:

Snap Stories, which have become increasingly popular, especially in the state of drunkenness, offer but a microcosm into someone’s life. Literally moments. And in that way they can distort the truth of what a person is really like, how they normally behave, and how one perceives their own reality in comparison to the “story world”.

The Snap story is not really a story. The Great Gatsby is a story. The Wizard of Oz is a story. Both with high moments, low moments, and everything in between. The Snap Story usually just highlights the party, oftentimes showing a sensationalized world of the individual that they seldom if ever really live in. A Snap Story of someone on a boat on a lake having a great time does not mean that person is always having a great time, even though it’s easy to take that mental shortcut. In fact, it doesn’t even mean this person owns a boat or knows someone with a boat. Maybe they stole the boat. Who knows…

